Mon 13 Mar 2023 21:32

Peterborough Rugby Club’s under-13 boys team (pictured) clinched the A1 Corridor League title with a game to spare on Sunday, as Harry Bennett scored a hat-trick in a 40-20 win over Huntingdon.

George Holleyoake added a couple of tries with one apiece for Harvey Acott, Dexter Johnson and Jude Lazenby.

“I am so proud of this fantastic set of lads,” said head coach Barry Dean. “Their hard work and enthusiasm has been wonderful this season, and this is what it's led to. They've been brilliant all season, and thoroughly deserve it.”

The Colts side left their older players at home as they played an under-17 match at Deeping and won 41-15, with captain Jack Grundy earning the man-of-the-match award with four tries and a conversion

Alfie Lewis had a try and a conversion, with tries for Jakub Balcerzak and Joseph Amos, while Leland Britchford added a conversion as well.

Without a fixture of their own, three of the under-18 girls guested for Towcester against Old Northamptonians, with Peterborough’s Abi Potter scoring a try for them.

Robyn Thorpe was the star of the show as the under-16 girls of Peterborough, Kettering and Olney came together for a training game. She scored two tries and a conversion with Emily Fosbeary being the other scorer from the Peterborough club.

The under-14 girls were heading for a whitewash of Market Harborough, but conceded a converted try in the last minute and had to settle for a 41-7 victory.

Emily ‘Pickle’ Salter had two tries, with single scores for Charlotte Badger, who also kicked three conversions, Maddie Hall, Hollie Ratcliffe, Ruby O’Dell and Ruby Wadsley.

Simon Potter
Peterborough Rugby Club
Festivals Coordinator
Age Grade & Colts Fixture Secretary

news articles

  • League win - down to the wire

    Thu 16 Mar 2023 22:08

    Sunday 2nd April 2023This will be the last game of the season for the women's league, and it is looking promising for then to win the league. Gather your friends, book a table and … view

  • 200 Club Winners - 2022

    Wed 15 Mar 2023 21:33

    Congratulations to the 200 Winners January 2022  Mr W Thompson   £50.00 Mr E Murphy       £15.00 Mrs M Veni          £15.00 Mr Arden           £10.00 Mr J Davies       £10.00   … view

  • 200 Club Winners - 2023

    Wed 08 Mar 2023 20:54

    200 Club Winners: January 2023 £50 A Croson £15 B Woolley £15 A Keeley £10 CL Hey … view